DSC 2008 candidates will be promoted to SGTs


Education Minister Adimulapu Suresh said Friday the government had approved the appointment of 2,193 candidates from the 2008 DSC batch to secondary school teachers (SGT) after the case had been on trial for 12 years.

At a press conference, the Minister recalled that following the publication of the notification for the DSC candidates in 2008, there had been problems with the appointment due to changed admission criteria. As a result, more than 4,000 B. Ed students lost their jobs and moved the court to seek justice.

In the 2014 elections, the TDP promised to look into the issue but postponed it after using it as a vote bank, the minister claimed.

Mr Suresh said after the YSR Congress Party came to power, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy made sure the legal issue was resolved and paved the way for 2,193 candidates to be nominated as SGTs. A GO will be issued shortly and the candidates will be appointed after their training, he said.

When asked, the minister said that 6,361 DSC candidates had also been appointed in 2018. Cases relating to a few other positions are pending before the court, he said, assuring that 486 more vacancies for physical education teachers, school assistants and Telugu experts will be filled shortly.

SSC, intermediate exams

Regarding the SSC and mid-term exams, Mr. Suresh said it would take at least 40 days to complete the exam process. In addition, students who want to appear for competitive exams such as JEE and EAMCET need time to prepare.

“In the current pandemic situation, it does not seem possible to conduct the audits now,” he said, adding, “We will continue our plan to conduct the audits only after the COVID-19 virus has subsided. We give priority to the safety of children and teachers and will wait for the appropriate time to conduct the exams in strict compliance with the COVID protocol.

The minister published the curriculum for the proficiency test for teachers (APTET-2021) and said it would be made available on the website http://aptet.apcfss.in.

General Secretary, School Education B. Rajasekhar, Director Vadrevu Chinaveerabhadrudu, Regional Joint Director S. Ravindra Reddy, and others attended.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here