HC nods for MPTC and ZPTC elections


A departmental bench of the High Court, comprised of Chief Justice Arup Kumar Goswami and Judge C. Praveen Kumar, paved the way for the April 8 MPTC and ZPTC elections by taking the orders of Judge U. Durga Prasad Rao, deferring the state election commission, overturned April 1 notice.

However, the court ordered the results to be retained until further orders.

Model number

Advocate General S. Sriram, who appeared on behalf of the government, said the state had been struggling since January due to the continued code of conduct as it was unable to submit the annual budget or get a full COVID vaccination.

He told the court that all the machinery for the elections was in place and that the state had not implemented any new policies regarding rural areas in the past three months. None of the officers transferred by the SEC were also pushed back. In fact, the model code was still there and no political party had gained any advantage.

Representing the SEC, senior attorney CV Mohan Reddy said the single judge should have been unable to maintain the written petition submitted by Varla Ramaiah of the Telugu Desam Party, especially if his Legal standing was not decided.

When the plea was rejected on the ground that it was a PIL, it should have been heard by a Division Bench under the written procedural rules, he satisfied.

Senior attorney Vedula Venkataramana argued on behalf of the petitioner that the SEC violated the Supreme Court order in this election plan, but to no avail.

It should be noted that on April 1, Election Commissioner Nilam Sawhney released the notice to resume the MPTC and ZPTC elections process from the time it was stopped on March 15, 2020 due to COVID-19 .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here